Lacock abbey was founded by Lady Ela the Countess of Salisbury in the reign of King Henry III.
Her husband was William Longespee, an illegitimate son of King Henry II and was one of the Barons who led the revolt against King John. His participation in the revolt explains how Lacock came to possess one of the three original copies of the Magna Carta.
Another famous resident of Lacock was William Fox Talbot in 1835. He was one of the pioneers of photography, and discovered how to make prints from negatives. Visitors to Lacock are shown the Oriel window from which he took his first successful photograph.
The Village has many architectural designs from the early timber framework to the georgian pediment. The tithe barn, 14th century doorways and several old weavers cottages make it a delight to explore. Lacock was given to the National Trust in 1944 by Matilda Talbot.